A kosher diet follows the strict dietary guidelines as outlined in traditional Jewish law. The word "kosher" means to be pure or suitable for consumption. Choose kosher when setting up your user profile, along with any other diets or food allergens you may have if you follow this way of eating.
Latest Grain-Free Recipes
Kosher Safe with Modifications
What is a Kosher Diet?
"Kosher," which is derived from the Hebrew root "kashér," means to be pure or suitable for consumption. A kosher diet follows the strict dietary guidelines as outlined in traditional Jewish law. This includes the exclusion of certain foods, and specific food combining principles. For example, meat and dairy are forbidden to be eaten together in a single meal.
There are three main kosher food categories. These include: Meat (meat and poultry and their bones, bone broths, and gelatin); Dairy (cow, goat, and sheep milk and their products); and Pareve (foods that are not meat including eggs, fish, and plant foods).
Kosher diet rules:
- Excludes ALL forms of pork
- Excludes rabbit, squirrel, and camel meat
- Meat and poultry can NOT be combined with any dairy foods
- Pareve foods are neutral and can be eaten with meat or dairy
- Dairy products must be rennet-free
- Seafood is kosher if it has fins or scales (shellfish is NOT kosher)
Getting started on a Kosher Diet:
- If you are not yet a member on this site, you can join now.
- Choose "Kosher" diet when setting up your user profile and then add additional diets you follow or food allergies you have.
- Search for recipes to add to your calendar and meal plans on the recipe search page. Please note that some recipe headnotes and related recipes may link to non-kosher recipes.
- Schedule your meal plans onto your meal plan calendar and create shopping lists.
- Get inspired with new kosher recipes added to this site weekly! Join our Nourishing Meals Community Facebook Group to get notified with new recipes and more! Everyone is welcome.